Short Stories

Show off your fan fiction, poetry, or links to your fan art.
stormsangel
Absolute Otaku

Short Stories

Post by stormsangel »

Here are two short stories I've written, I shall add more to this thread as I write them. Opinions with reasons and critiques are very welcome :)

Shadows - Word prompt from: http://thepromptwriter.com/one-word-prompts/ 'Shadows'. Gave myself a 5 minute limit and just wrote.

They drifted along the walls. Silent. Graceful. I didn't know who they belonged to, wasn't even sure I wanted to. But every night, when there was no moon, they were there. Dancing to an unheard music; moving in time with invisible bodies. But as time passed they no longer scared me, I had become used to them, even comforted. They provided me with company on those sleepless nights. Often I wondered what sort of music it was that they were dancing to. Was it classical? Rock and roll? Pop? No matter how long I studied their movements I could not identify the style; if there even was a style. They moved gracefully, never bothered by the presence of a light from another direction.

Perhaps they were people's lost shadows, like in Peter Pan, but how did one lose their shadow? Were these the shadows of those who had died before their time? Forever to exist without a body until they were too old to continue their dance? Perhaps they had stories to tell. Of their lives and those that had lived in this place before me. It would be interesting to sit and listen, but I know they have no voices, at least, no voices that can be heard by human ears. For now I am content to watch their dance, but maybe one day, in the far off future, I will be able to hear their music, join in their dance and listen to their stories...

Introduction - Just a little bit of silliness really :heh: thought I would try writing something with only speaking.

"Hello! My name is Ari and this is my-"
"Heeeey, why are you talking to yourself?"