Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!
Warning: Unmarked Spoilers Lie Within These Pages!
We need anime profile submissions and character profile submissions to help us grow. Do you have the knowledge, passion, and desire to write one?

Blu-ray Review: The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki (blu-ray)

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki is a fantastic blu-ray collection featuring every feature film from Hayao Miyazaki, and any fan of Miyazaki or Studio Ghibli should definitely check it out. There are 11 movies in total:

Castle in the Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki's Delivery Service, Spirited Away are all some of my favorite anime films, though my personal favorite of the bunch is the first Hayao Miyazaki film I ever saw, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind. But really, every movie here absolutely worth watching. They all have the original Japanese dialog with optional English subtitles and optional hearing-impaired English subtitles. The subtitles correspond to the Japanese dialog, they weren't just stolen from the English dubbed version. I prefer the Japanese dialog but if you're one that prefers an English dub then this may not be the set for you.

Amazon is selling this set for $177.99, and while that may sound like a lot you have to keep in mind that you're getting 11 movies on blu-ray so that comes out to be around $16 each. And that's not bad for a blu-ray. Plus, it comes with bonus extras:

  • Yuki no Taiyo (Yuki's Sun) Pilot Film
  • Akado Suzunosuke (Little Samurai) Episodes 26, 27 & 41
  • Director Hayao Miyazaki's Retirement Press Conference, Uncut Version
  • An actual art book

That's not a huge lot of extras, but at least it's something. If you already own many of these on blu-ray then it may not be worth getting, but if you're new to Hayao Miyazaki then this a great set to start with.

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki (blu-ray), released by Walt Disney Video, is available starting November 17, 2015.

Visitor Comments

Additional Content